MLK Jr. Day Update Update

Good news. It’s 11:08 pm, and the long night is over. The toilet has been fixed, and I am glad, because I don’t know if the gym is open all night on Mondays. I haven’t been to the gym in months and today I made myself go because the toilet died and there was no way I was going to Starbucks three times in one day. So I basically skated to the gym on the snow, used their facilities and then felt the need to validate the trip so I worked out for a while. All because of a bum toilet. And I’m thinking God has realized He can’t be subtle because I won’t get it, so He just shuts my plumbing down when it’s time to get my butt out the door.

Tony the Super never showed, but Pete the Fireman did, and he took a sub-par plunger (borrowed, because ours succumbed to the war effort this morning) and fixed the damn thing in 3 seconds flat, even though Charlotte had worked on it all day, with guest help from the neighbor on the fifth floor who brought a super-plunger and his expertise when it came to solving the problems of the “throne” as he called it.  I mean, we were all playing our A games, no doubt about it. Charlotte, Chad and our neighbor plunged. I made the “don’t use the toilet” sign, and as far as I’m concerned, it should be hanging in the Louvre.

I just let Pete know that it’s not that we weren’t strong, it was that the toilet was stronger. And he said the same thing anyone says to me when I can’t open a can of tomatoes: “I know! You just loosened it up for me!.” That doesn’t say “Don’t worry, I know you’re strong enough” it says “Not only are you not strong enough physically, but you seem to be emotionally weak as well, so I’m going to let you down easy. There, there, biceps.”

Pete opens all my jars of tomato sauce when I can’t do it. This is exactly why I must continue going to the gym.

Regardless, I am thankful because without this I was looking at a 5:30 am arrival time at work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

